Opposition MEPs’ defeat – More key positions for the Fidesz-KDNP EP delegation

2019. 07. 11.

Press Release by the Fidesz-KDNP delegation to the European Parliament

What the opposition has done recently in Brussels was a slap on the face for Hungarian citizens who voted for the Fidesz-KDNP alliance. The Democratic Coalition, Momentum and the Hungarian Socialist Party have abandoned the basic rules of democracy when they tried to prevent Fidesz-KDNP members from occupying their Vice-Chairman positions in EP committees. But their attempts have failed again and the Hungarian EPP Group delegation has succeeded in gaining further important leading positions.

It is scandalous that the pro-migration opposition has, once again, ignored the will of the Hungarian people, the EP’s long-standing customary and written rules that have been in place for decades. According to the parliamentary groups’ agreement, EPP nominated five Fidesz representatives to become Vice-Chairmen in EP committees; because the party reaped a record victory in the May European Parliament elections thus constituting the third largest delegation in the EPP Group.

The professional work in the EP has not even begun, and the opposition parties in Hungary have already gone against the will of Hungarian citizens and the domestic results of the EP elections, which is a real mockery of democracy. This clearly shows that opposition MEPs will continue to support all pro-immigration policies in the European Parliament.

It is outrageous that MEPs in the European Parliament are constantly preaching about the rule of law, while the EP’s own rules are being disobeyed. And nothing is sacred for the opposition; they are not even ashamed of changing the outcome of the elections. After the election of Lívia Járóka as Vice-President of the European Parliament last week, left-wing MEPs have failed again. Kinga Gál was elected Vice-Chair of the Subcommittee on Security and Defense (SEDE) and Tamás Deutsch as Vice-Chair of the Committee on Budgetary Control (CONT) in the European Parliament.